Raising Rates in NYC + Freelance Isn't Free Act
March 21, 2017 3:07 PM   Subscribe

I've been working with "Marney" for 3 years. I charge her $50/hour for all-inclusive communication services: high-profile speeches and pitches on multi-million dollar bids. Recently, she partnered with "Barney," and he hired me to write the pitch for a multi-million dollar proposal too. Between both companies, I had three consecutive rush jobs in five weeks. They now owe me several thousand. How do I get them to cough up before tax time? What's the best approach for raising rates and adding rush fees? I want my new terms to align with the new Freelance Isn't Free Act in NYC. Advice?

The worst of the three rush jobs kept me working for nearly 30 straight hours. Marney has a long history of leaving things to the last minute, and then I am forced to pull all-nighters to meet the deadline. In this case, it was such egregious overtime, I was in contact with her at 4 AM two nights in a row.

Apart from the sometimes insane hours and pay irregularity, Marney is the easiest client to work with I have ever had. If she writes, I edit. When I write, she edits. It's an ego-free relationship that offers a range of really interesting work that is helping me build a career that I would never have the opportunity to build without her. She and Barney also both LOVE my work. All of my feedback all of the time is ecstatic. The crazy speech got a long fan letter from a prominent person in Marney's world; the proposal letter I wrote for Barney was, according to the Project Manager, "a big hit." I always meet ALL deadlines.

That said, Marney has done a bit of a job on my finances, for although she has always paid me, she has NEVER paid me in a timely way or predictable way. (She has a long history of this with all of her contractors.) In order to get paid, I often have to ask several times, and I've long felt I'm forced to beg for my money.