I'm a 31 year old living at home & contributing. Is it embarassing?
March 10, 2017 8:05 PM   Subscribe

I'm a 31 year old male who is Filipino and living at home with my dad, step-mom, and step-grandparents. I've been wrestling with the idea of moving out, as men in western society face a major stigma if he is still living at home especially within the dating field. However, it's the opposite in Asian culture and making it out on your own (having your own place without sharing) in Los Angeles is a major challenge if you're not a nurse, engineer, business owner, and etc. I work as an Admin assistant at a UCLA clinic, and I am also working as a per diem MRI assistant on the weekends. I have already filed my taxes, and my gross income didn't even reach 40k last year. I realized that it didn't make sense to move out and have a whole paycheck go to rent. I'm not interested in sharing an apartment with roommates. I've decided to contribute money towards 1/3 of our mortgage. I also pay the family's cell phone plan, cable, internet, and gas. Everyone helps out in sharing the cost of the monthly expenses.