What On-Line Work Can An American In Germany Do?
March 5, 2017 1:37 PM   Subscribe

I have an opportunity to spend three months in Germany with dear friends. I am choosing to work while I am there and am now doing research on what opportunities are available to me to work on-line. E-Lance, virtual assistant, etc. I am a writer, can do research, data entry, write copy and content and more. My first choice is creative opportunities. Am willing to explore other alternatives.
posted by goalyeehah to Work & Money (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

What kind of visa will you be entering Germany on?
posted by bimbam at 2:24 PM on March 5, 2017 [2 favorites]

No visa at this time. Friends implied one is not needed. US citizens in possession of a valid US passport do not need a visa for tourist or business trips to Germany for stays of up to 90 days.
If I am employed in Germany I would have a work permit.
posted by goalyeehah at 2:44 PM on March 5, 2017

If you come in like that, you cannot get a work permit. The 3 month entry without getting a visa in advance is for tourists, or "business" like visiting your American employer's clients, etc. It's not for working for a German employer.

You are also unlikely to be able to get a work permit for a short period of time or without an employer already lined up. So I think the sort of work you are talking about would have to be for American employers, and then you would count as being employed in the USA; it just happens you are travelling while working, which for short periods like 3 months is, I think, permitted.

I am not even a little bit a lawyer, but have experience with working and travelling in Germany.
posted by lollusc at 3:02 PM on March 5, 2017 [4 favorites]