How can I best prepare for an appointment with my sports medicine doc?
February 14, 2017 10:11 AM   Subscribe

I’m a former runner who has been in and out of PT for over a year, and it turns out the issue is with my hips, especially the piriformis. My issues aren't resolving (or at least it seems that way). Given the time I've been dealing with this, I'm a little at a loss as to how best to prepare for my upcoming appointment.

I’m a former runner who has been in and out of PT for over a year, and it turns out one of my major issues is with generally my hips, and specifically the piriformis. I thought I could go back to running but even the elliptical causes pain and such extreme tightness throughout my entire hip and glute area that I’m extremely sore even just getting out of bed the next day (i.e., can't get out of bed without stretching). Stretching helps temporarily (pidgeon pose is my favorite), but has not fixed the issue. While it's true that exercise makes it feel like I'm the Tin Man, my hips feel just.... loose and “floppy” meaning when I turn my knees out, it feels completely wrong and I hear a clicking and popping. Sometimes the popping is so extreme it’s really painful. Kind of like cracking your knuckles, but with my hips. I am somewhat hyperflexible in some joints (elbows, feet, possibly hips). I just can’t understand why months of strength training with resistance bands hasn’t fixed this problem. If I just get stronger, it should fix it, right? I had surgery for compartment syndrome a year ago and my body still hasn’t cleared out all the fluid from that. My lower leg muscles are sore to the touch. So... I have multiple issues going on.