Need this situation to have good optics (literally)
February 1, 2017 5:00 PM   Subscribe

I am a doctor (but, of course, not your doctor). I'm in a situation where I need to use a piece of magnification equipment in an operating room, but the hospital has relocated all these particular pieces of equipment (colposcopes, if you're curious) to a different out-patient facility. I'd really like to find a an inexpensive and portable alternative.

Essentially, a colposcope is a binocular magnifier with a light source and a focal distance of about 20-30cm. That is, we set up the scope about 20-30cm away from the patient so that we can work at arm's length while looking through the scope.

I've looked into monoculars, USB microscopes, and other such devices, but I can't seem to find anything that will provide the same focal length. I'd be happy with something that's handheld, something that can fit on a tripod, or something that can be instead of or over my glasses, like a loupe.

Gurus of optics, help me please! Does such a device exist?
posted by greatgefilte to Technology (15 answers total)

(I'm probably getting the optics nomenclature all wrong re: focal distances and focal lengths. Basically I need to be able to focus on something 30 cm away and magnify it.)
posted by greatgefilte at 5:07 PM on February 1, 2017

Perhaps look into things that are made for dentists?

Dental loupes? Dental magnifying glasses?
posted by Maxwell_Smart at 5:20 PM on February 1, 2017

I googled portable colposcope and came up with this device.
posted by telegraph at 5:24 PM on February 1, 2017

telegraph, I found that as well and am looking into it but it's bound to be quite pricey. I'm looking for something in the <$250 range.
posted by greatgefilte at 5:27 PM on February 1, 2017