Health insurance as a US resident doing lots of international travel?
January 27, 2017 3:18 PM   Subscribe

I am a US resident planning some extensive international travel ; let's say 6-8 months of the year in Europe and/or Asia. What kind of health insurance should I be looking for, and what are the kinds of questions I should be asking of my potential policy?

My past experience in the US has been entirely with relatively good insurance through a full time employer, so that's the level of policy I'd like to maintain (I realize this will probably be costly to obtain outside of full time employment). I have purchased "travel insurance" that has a health coverage component in the past, but that has always been for short trips (several weeks at most) and honestly I have never fully understood whether that was really useful in the context of also having reasonably good employer-based health insurance. Without that, and with a lot more travel going on, I'm kind of lost in terms of knowing what I should be looking for.
posted by kanuck to Travel & Transportation (9 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

I live in Amsterdam for 3 months a year. I don't do anything special, I just maintain our current coverage. Last year my wife had a root canal and several fillings done in The Netherlands. We paid cash, less than €500. Before the ACA, my wife and I lived for 2 decades without any insurance whatsoever.

These are my datapoints for you.
posted by humboldt32 at 3:54 PM on January 27, 2017 [1 favorite]

No advice on a specific policy, but keep an eye on Affordable Care Act news as you travel. If the health insurance repeal is handled poorly at the Federal level, the individual health insurance market may be drastically altered or ended altogether, affecting people who currently have and/or want to purchase individual health insurance.
posted by cnc at 4:06 PM on January 27, 2017