Online multiuser forum platform for a 9yo?
January 25, 2017 4:05 AM   Subscribe

My 9-yo son wants a forum-like site where he and his friends can post text and images and videos. I'm a web developer, so I could build it from scratch, but I don't really feel like putting in the hours. I'm looking for recommendations for a) easy to set up b) easy to use (by 9 year olds) c) secure and stable d) modern, forum-like platforms.

I have servers, so it could be self-hosted or not.
I personally don't like Wordpress, though I'd be willing to use it if it was the best solution.
I'd also be open to something like tumblr or medium if there were a simple way to allow multiple people to post to the same account.
My son is quite internet-savvy, his friends not so much, so whatever we pick should be dead simple.
posted by signal to Computers & Internet (12 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

SMF seems to be pretty good, and is free, if you wanted something self-hosted. No idea what the setup/admin side of it's like, but I'm a member of a fairly busy forum which uses it and it seems pretty stable.
posted by A Robot Ninja at 4:48 AM on January 25, 2017

Program for your kid and they have software.

Teach a kid to program and you retire early.

Seriously, though, why not just use Tumblr?
posted by spitbull at 4:59 AM on January 25, 2017

You could make a reddit subgroup, and make it private. As the admin you can control who can get in.
posted by exois at 5:33 AM on January 25, 2017

Slack might be ideal for this.
posted by thejoshu at 5:53 AM on January 25, 2017 [9 favorites]

Yeah, I think Slack would be great for that.
posted by timdiggerm at 6:23 AM on January 25, 2017