Doggie germs
January 24, 2017 1:43 AM   Subscribe

Humans are innately repelled by things like rotten food and bodily fluids - partly because of social taboo, but also as a way of stopping us eating/handling things likely to make us very sick. Why aren't dogs repelled by 'harmful' things in the same way?
posted by mippy to Pets & Animals (14 answers total)

Dogs and the wolves they descend from are natural scavengers; in the wild, they will eat whatever is available at any opportunity, except plants. Most of what is poisonous to a dog is plant-based and human-made, like raisins and chocolate. A dog won't eat cocoa seeds in the wild but will of course eat your chocolate brownie.
posted by DarlingBri at 1:58 AM on January 24, 2017 [5 favorites]

I believe one reason dogs can handle carrion and such is just that the digestive tract is so much shorter - there's a much shorter time for microbes/bacteria (whatever - I'm no expert) to multiply to harmful levels.
posted by quinndexter at 3:14 AM on January 24, 2017 [3 favorites]

A big part of this comes down to differences in how dogs and humans learn. Because we can write and speak, we can pass down lessons about foods to avoid to future generations. Dogs don't do those things, though, so they can't benefit from previous generations' experiences unless they're living in a group with multiple generations present. I know not to eat certain mushrooms not because I've eaten them and gotten sick, but because my parents told me not to eat them.

Additionally, dogs have very different memories than we do. If I eat a piece of rotten food and get sick hours later, it will be pretty easy for me to make the connection and realize that the rotten food made me sick - especially if this happens more than once. However, dogs aren't retrospective, so by the time one is getting sick, he or she has long since forgotten the piece of rotten food they ate earlier.