PHO Disaster
January 19, 2017 8:05 AM   Subscribe

Hi Metafilter Cooks- I need your advice. I was making a delicious looking Chicken Pho recipe from Smitten Kitchen, but adapting it to my instant pot. I put together the ingredients for the broth and set the pressure cooker and walked away...and afterwards produced a divine smelling stock that I really want to use. But

I have a small toddler which means that I can never ever concentrate on anything that I am doing which is why attempting to cook is usually an adventure. After I started lifting out the chicken pieces from the pot, I also found the liner that goes at the bottom of the chicken package within. I was distracted while putting in the chicken and obviously missed it. I am so very very very sad to have wasted my time, these lovely ingredients, and so incredibly frustrated. Is this something that I should throw out? Advice appreciated!!
posted by catrae to Food & Drink (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

help accidentally cooked the absorbent meat pad
Meat package padding won't hurt cooked meal

Consensus seems to be if the pad is undamaged, you should be ok.
posted by INFJ at 8:11 AM on January 19, 2017 [3 favorites]

Well, anecdotally I have done this and it was okay. More specifically, as long as the packaging looks unaltered from cooking the USDA says it is ok.
posted by Polychrome at 8:12 AM on January 19, 2017

Thanks!!sadly the packet, although mostly in one piece was definitely damaged. I am guessing throw out?
posted by catrae at 8:18 AM on January 19, 2017

I wouldn't, but that's just me. If there are large bits of clearly missing, but if it seems largely intact, you're not going to be ingesting very much of a substance that isn't actually toxic in the first place. Your risk aversion may vary.
posted by jacquilynne at 8:36 AM on January 19, 2017 [1 favorite]