Should I return my new printer?
January 19, 2017 7:50 AM   Subscribe

I set up a new laser printer last night that had just been delivered. It is a Dell e525w that can print, scan, fax, and copy. After going through the set-up process, I printed some test pages. They came out mottled, with very uneven print. See image here (let me know if the image is not public, as I've never used Google Photos before, thanks). I was using plain laser printer paper and the correct printer setting for it. More info below.

From the user's manual, the only listed solution is to adjust the transfer roller using the included maintenance software. It had 7 settings from -3 to +3, default was zero. I tried every option and printed a test after each. The picture I linked to was the worst and the best of the bunch.

First question, does anyone have this printer or one like it, that can give me some advice of other adjustments that might help? I'd rather not waste a lot of time and toner testing every maintenance option, especially since the manual only listed the one.

Second question, should I just assume that the printer was damaged in shipping and request an exchange? It was shipped in its original packaging, which only had one inch thick white styrofoam inserts. Hardly a good buffer against being knocked around during the shipping process.

I really appreciate your input!
posted by Don_K to Computers & Internet (8 answers total)

I used to be a desktop / printing admin way back when and have set up many laser printers. I would return this one. Contact Dell support and show them those pictures, I'm sure they'll take care of you.
posted by rachelpapers at 7:53 AM on January 19, 2017 [2 favorites]