How can I repeat or sustain a sample using Garageband's AUSampler?
January 12, 2017 8:37 AM   Subscribe

With Garageband's AUSampler, I want to hold down a key and have the sample sustain or repeat seamlessly, rather than abruptly stop—how do I do that?

I am a perpetual amateur at this stuff, but I finally figured out how to:

Slice up a wav file of someone else's song -> "Export song to disk" -> Open with AUSampler -> Trigger sample with Musical Keyboard

But I want to sustain the note. For example, I sample a 1-second horn note from an old jazz record, I want to hold down the key in the Musical Keyboard and have that horn note sustain for 5 seconds, basically stretch it out. Is that possible?
posted by critzer to Technology (4 answers total)

Here's some info on AUSampler and Garageband: http://ericshowto.weebly.com/garagebands-hidden-ausampler.html

I'm guessing something in the Hold Time/Release Time/Sustain Level will be what you want.
posted by ndfine at 9:07 AM on January 12, 2017 [1 favorite]

A good keyword to search with might be "loop point".

ndfine's link suggests there's a checkbox you can set that will let you loop the entire sample, but that will loop the initial attack too, giving you a rhythmic "blaatblaatblaat" that repeats every second instead of the "blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat" that you want. You want to just pick a little segment towards the end of the sound and ask it to loop that.

Warning: no matter how carefully you set the loop points, the looping's probably still going to sound pretty weird and artificial. But possibly good enough depending on what use you have in mind.

The hold time/release time/sustain level sounds like just an amplitude envelope, it might help if you wanted a shorter sound or one with a softer attack, for example, but I doubt it'll help here.
posted by floppyroofing at 9:11 AM on January 12, 2017 [3 favorites]

that will loop the initial attack too