The holy trinity of monitors
January 10, 2017 10:23 PM   Subscribe

Help me improve my 3 monitor rig. I'm a computer novice and I need your expertise.

When the first Core i7's came out I built an expensive graphics rig using a Dell 30" monitor (2560x1600) flanked by two Dell 20 inch monitors in portrait mode (1200x1600). The great thing about this is that the displays match up perfectly, as this picture demonstrates.

http://www.ubergizmo.com/photos/2006/2/dell-3007wfp-04.jpg

I would like to upgrade to a high resolution display for my main monitor, probably something 4K and at least 28". But I would also like to continue using two portrait monitors on either side. And I would like these monitors to match, as much as possible the dimensions and scale of the main monitor. I have only a layman's understanding of computers, and so I'm not sure where to even start looking.

Also, I presently use two graphics cards, a GTS 250 and a GeForce 210. I would liike to use a single graphics card to run all three of the new displays. I am fine with upgrading the motherboard if necessary. I don't do any 3D stuff or gaming, so the video cards I have now are acceptable for the pixels I presently push. But with so many more pixels and one card handling all three screens, I'd need something more powerful. I can spend what I need to spend, but I'd prefer a video card that is quiet, and I don't want to pay for performance I'll never use.

Thanks in advance for your insights.
posted by Crotalus to Computers & Internet (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I'm writing this review using a 27 inch Dell monitor mentioned in this Wirecutter review. I mention this not to recommend this monitor in particular (although 3 of the things all in portrait mode would be a potential solution to your issue)- but rather because of their in depth discussion of some of the other alternatives - including ultra-wide( 3440x1440) monitors and 4K monitors.