Could non-job related reasons cause ruining interview?
January 5, 2017 12:28 PM   Subscribe

So I just had a good interview, and I was invited again for a second round. The hiring manager and I were chatting at the end as the hiring manager was showing me out. I let him know that I have a cough and I apologized before the interview began. Towards the end he asked me how long have I been coughing, and I responded by saying that "I have been coughing for 2 months and it doesn't seem to go away." The doctors said that it is not bronchitis but many people would think that anyway it seems. Do you think the hiring manager is not going to hire me because he suspects I have bronchitis or some other coughing disease? He might be afraid that his entire staff will get sick! Although I cough a lot, I feel totally fine otherwise. Has anyone who is a hiring manager not hired anyone for similar reasons? I feel like I lost an opportunity, because as I shook his hand when we were saying good-bye, his face seemed as if it had some horror.
posted by pieceofcake to Work & Money (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

He probably had the look of horror because he put together the fact you were shaking his hand and he'd just realized you might have coughed on it! Which is socially awkward, but not related to hiring.

He may have also realized that asking someone about a medical condition in an interview is against the good interview practices he should have known. Not only is discriminating against someone due to illness or any physical disability illegal, even implying it could be a factor in an interview could open you up to litigation. So no, it can't affect his ability to hire you, and excluding you on that basis would be a very bad thing.
posted by mikeh at 12:32 PM on January 5, 2017 [4 favorites]

I think the answer to your question as asked is absolutely "Yeah, non-job-related things can torpedo an interview."