Pithy prose for pepper-up post-its
January 4, 2017 9:07 PM   Subscribe

I'm studying for the USMLE Step 1 (aka medical school boards). It's grueling. I want to write motivational notes to myself on post-its that I can put up in my apartment, car, etc. What short bits of motivational text should I put on them?

Short, both so it'll fit on the note and so it won't take long to write. Time is a pretty precious commodity for me at the moment.
posted by ocherdraco to Grab Bag (26 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

"OCHERDRACO, FUCK YEAH!"
posted by Eyebrows McGee at 9:42 PM on January 4, 2017 [1 favorite]

"You have come this far. You can do this."
posted by seawallrunner at 10:13 PM on January 4, 2017

100% of MS2s think they are going to fail. Only 4% of them actually do. (OK maybe that's not THAT motivational, but it's true). (Also: Ocherdraco, fuck yeah!)
posted by The Elusive Architeuthis at 10:15 PM on January 4, 2017 [2 favorites]

Just keep swimming,
Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming.
posted by calgirl at 10:32 PM on January 4, 2017 [1 favorite]

These are not peppy, but i find them useful in managing procrastination, which is a big barrier to motivation for me:

"You don't have to like it, you just have to do it"
"Be a good friend to Ocherdraco-of-the-future"
"You've done this before, you can do it again" (to get this far you must have passed lots of big exams already, what's one more?)
posted by une_heure_pleine at 10:35 PM on January 4, 2017

Nothing will work unless you do. - Maya Angelou
... the best way out is always through - Robert Frost (from A Servant to Servants)
Kick it in the ass. - Kim Manners

everything will be okay
in the end.
if it's not okay,
it's not the end. - unattributed
posted by furtive_jackanapes at 10:57 PM on January 4, 2017 [1 favorite]

"If Britney Spears survived 2007, I can survive the boards,"
posted by kinddieserzeit at 10:57 PM on January 4, 2017 [1 favorite]