Niche recommendation - Chinese sci-fi short story about war?
December 15, 2016 4:01 PM   Subscribe

For a discussion group, I'd like to propose reading some sci-fi outside the US/European tradition. I have some background in Chinese politics, but not Chinese literature and definitely not the newly-emerging sci-fi genre there. I'm aware of sci-fi anthologies like Ken Liu's Invisible Planets and Liu Cixin's Remembrance of Earth's Past trilogy, but I'm hoping someone can recommend a sci-fi short story or novella that's specifically about some aspect of war. War technology, battle strategy, experience on the battlefield, social responses to apocalypse, etc - I'm open to just about anything in that silo.
posted by brozek to Media & Arts (3 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Left field answer - I'd recommend emailing Ken Liu and asking him this question. I went to a talk by him and he was incredibly friendly and receptive to questions, and his website encourages people to contact him:

To contact me about reprints, adaptations, translations, questions, requests (to give talks, judge contests, hold workshops, etc.) or just to chat, please email me at ken [AT] kenliu.name.
posted by showbiz_liz at 4:50 PM on December 15, 2016 [1 favorite]

Liu Cixin has also written a collection of short stories called The Wandering Earth, where almost all the stories fit under at least one of your categories.
posted by the agents of KAOS at 4:52 PM on December 15, 2016 [1 favorite]

Year of the Rat 鼠年 by Chen Qiufan 陈楸帆, which has unemployable college graduates drafted in a war against genetically engineered rats, is the closest I can think of in English. It's from 2009, and was translated by Ken Liu for the July/August 2013 issue of The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. It's in his Invisible Planets.