Looking for a Gmail equivalent
December 13, 2016 9:01 AM   Subscribe

Are there any (non-Google) paid email providers that support a Gmail-like label and archive workflow?

I've read a few horror stories about Google closing people's accounts suddenly without giving them any recourse. Given how critical email is to online identity, I've gotten a neat personal domain that I control, and I'm looking at shifting over to a paid email service with good customer support.

I've been using Gmail for at least ten years, and I've gotten used to using rules-based filters to sort my incoming email and then archiving it when I'm done with it. I really like this because I see everything in my inbox, while still being able to quickly sort through it all while keeping it organized and without losing anything.

I currently have a FastMail free trial, and while it seems to have lots of great features and comes well regarded, it doesn't seem to support the same inbox/archiving features that have made Gmail really useful to me. Are there any non-Google services out there that have tried to match Gmail's innovative features?
posted by cosmic.osmo to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Response by poster: I guess I should add that I know that I can probably get this by using Google Apps with my domain (and the domain gives me recourse not available to normal Gmail users), but I kinda want to distance myself from Google if at all possible.
posted by cosmic.osmo at 9:08 AM on December 13, 2016

Pretty much everyone but Gmail uses folders (where an email can only be in one folder or the Inbox at a time) instead of labels (where a single email can have multiple labels, and can be in the Inbox or not). Zoho Mail supports arbitrary tags, which probably gets you most of the way there. I haven't used Zoho mail personally (I use Fastmail) but I haven't seen anyone complain about it.
posted by zsazsa at 9:35 AM on December 13, 2016