Can a relationship with my boyfriend from a different social class work?
December 5, 2016 7:45 AM   Subscribe

My new boyfriend's family is well off, mine has money but live REALLY frugally to the point of frustration although I love them dearly. Lately he has been making comments that concern me & make me question how much of a future we can actually have...

When I first met my boyfriend I thought he was probably too posh for me - sometimes I feel like Bridget Jones dating Mark Darcy (except he's the clumsy one!).

We went to the same uni - I graduated with a good degree and he almost failed his, saying he doesn't consider himself to be 'academic' and in hindsight probably wouldn't have attended further education. He prefers working blue collar jobs while I am running a small business I set up last year. I am also a published writer whose career is advancing and he is really supportive of this. He is a big reader and we both enjoy very similar things. We vote the same way politicially.

He comes from a family of money and his family owns a large rural estate. Interestingly enough, about half of my family are from rural locations & as such I am due to inherit a rural area myself. But I grew up in an area that had formerly been a council estate - sandwiched somewhere between being an okay area and rough in some parts. I'm from a family where my parents grew up working class but are now financially middle class having both achieved very good degrees and careers.

Lately, my boyfriend occasionally makes disparaging comments about areas that are not dissimilar to where I grew up when we pass through them - not about the people but the houses themselves. This is obviously an issue because I dread taking him home, I don't want to date a snob and I won't be made to feel ashamed of my upbringing.