I need to set up a holiday drive in my building, asap!
November 21, 2016 5:30 PM   Subscribe

I'm the property manager for a building in midtown Manhattan, NY with about 100 residential rental apartments. I'd like to set up some kind of gift drive, food drive, coat drive, etc, but I have no idea what to do! And maybe it's too late in the season? Help!

Oh man. I can't believe I waited so late to get this going. So I manage a lovely new residential building in midtown Manhattan. I have nice holiday decorations to go up in the lobby next week and I would love to do some kind of charity drive, both to help those less fortunate and to foster community in the building.

Alas I've never done this before and have no idea how to set one up. And it has to be SOON - preferably early next week at the latest. Here's what I have - a great staff and Super, and kind tenants who I'm sure would want to contribute. Here's what I don't have - time to do much research/legwork, or any kind of transportation.

I looked at Toys for Tots but their deadline for applying to be a pick up location was November 1st. I looked up Winter Wishes and all their letters (40,000!) have been filled. Everyone I've spoken to about this has pretty much said "yep, next year you'll know to start in October."

Can anyone think of anything I could try? Remember, I dont have a car so I can't actually truck anything anywhere. The best I can think of so far is finding another building in the neighborhood that's doing a drive and asking if I can just bring whatever I collect over to them :(
posted by silverstatue to Grab Bag (7 answers total)

Collect coats for the NYCares Coat Drive- if there are drop-off locations near you, you could walk or cab donations over as they come in.
posted by ThePinkSuperhero at 5:37 PM on November 21, 2016 [3 favorites]