Practical accounts of life and culture under oppression and turmoil?
November 9, 2016 4:10 PM   Subscribe

The 2016 election in some ways feels like an unprecedented event, but as an American I'm trying to keep in mind how much worse the leadership has been in so many other countries now and throughout history. I recognize that thriving cultural communities have emerged out of worse regimes, so I'm looking for any accounts of how, practically and psychologically, they did that (fictional or non). How did the makers and do-ers keep going?

Doesn't have to be capitol-C culture, I'd be as interested in the Russian literati as rural villages trying to preserve local traditions under Maoist China. To clarify, I'm not necessarily looking for accounts of overt political resistance. More accounts of how a way of life or an art form has been preserved through hostile political atmospheres, whether through overt resistance or other means. I'm a painter and a teacher, and most of my friends either make things or work with people, and we're all generally looking at our hands right now thinking, Ok, what now? I want to know the answers other communities found.
posted by nímwunnan to Society & Culture (18 answers total) 32 users marked this as a favorite

I enjoyed the book "Reading Lolita in Tehran" and the movie "Beyond Rangoon." They are both kind of fictionalized accounts of real events, or so I understand. I am not sure how closely it fits your definition.
posted by Michele in California at 4:18 PM on November 9, 2016 [1 favorite]

Vaclav Havel wrote about this.
posted by kevinbelt at 4:43 PM on November 9, 2016

Oooh, Havel. Yes. Thank you.
posted by nímwunnan at 4:50 PM on November 9, 2016

Ji Xianlin’s The Cowshed: Memories of the Chinese Cultural Revolution is gripping.
Also, Ten Years of Madness.
posted by Ideefixe at 5:05 PM on November 9, 2016 [1 favorite]

You might find the later essays in Joseph Roth's The Hotel Years instructive.