In search of a good web host and domain registrar
October 4, 2016 7:18 AM   Subscribe

Please recommend a good web host and/or domain registrar. Details inside-

I am a web designer who needs to be able to recommend worthwhile and reputable services to my clients. I used to have a go-to web host and domain registrar but they have recently stopped being reliable.

I am familiar with and use Nearly Free Speech Net but they are not appropriate for most clients.

I have used GANDI for domain registration in the past, but am open to other possibilities.

I do not want to use GoDaddy or Network Solutions - too many negative experiences with both. I have also noticed that when a company gets taken over by EIG, they seem to turn to crap. This has been my experience with Blue Host, A Small Orange, Homestead, etc. So I'm hoping to avoid them if possible as well.

I mainly create WordPress based sites these days. Nothing super fancy and nothing really huge so the hosting package doesn't need a ton of bells and whistles.

"Green" hosting would be nice but I know that comes in a lot of shades.

Lastly, I need for the hosting/domain accounts to be accessible by more than one person (i.e., account roles like Owner, Admin, Tech, Billing).
posted by jammy to Computers & Internet (20 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Response by poster: Forgot one bit: It would also be very great if the hosting company offers development areas for new sites (subdomains, etc) and, just as important, *actually* knows how to migrate the site to the main domain once done. Thanks!
posted by jammy at 7:25 AM on October 4, 2016

I work for a web agency that almost exclusively does (fairly simple) WP sites and we recommend Dreamhost (shared)/DreamPress (managed). But they don't do staging sites.