Explaining how social media works to my boss
September 30, 2016 11:07 PM   Subscribe

I'm looking for some good articles that explain the timelines of social media to my boss. I'm struggling to get him to understand why delaying posting things that are already published online on news websites for days or even weeks doesn't make sense. Ditto delaying posting photos from events for up to two weeks.

Extra bonus points for things coming from reputable sources that even a technophobe would have heard of. If he won't listen to me, maybe he'll listen to someone who he's heard of before.

Next on my list after this is to contact people in similar roles at similar institutions to have them explain it to him. Sadly, he doesn't listen to me despite the damn good job I've been doing for the past three years.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (19 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Well, what are his reservations/beliefs about timeliness? What sort of content do you share, and what sort of industry are you in? What goals does your social media strategy feed into?
posted by Hermione Granger at 11:38 PM on September 30, 2016 [1 favorite]

It would probably help to address the reasons he specifically has for delaying. Does he think it's best practice? That it's not important enough to devote the resources necessary for getting things up quickly? Something else? Someone explaining to him that's it best practice to post things quickly isn't going to get him to change if there's actually some other obstacle in place.
posted by lazuli at 11:51 PM on September 30, 2016 [2 favorites]

[A couple of comments deleted. OP is looking for "good articles that explain the timelines of social media," so let's focus more on resources rather than our own thoughts about the logic of how it should work or our personal opinion about social media generally.]
posted by taz (staff) at 11:54 PM on September 30, 2016 [1 favorite]