Six months to improve your quality of life - what would you do?
September 26, 2016 7:55 AM   Subscribe

My latest temporary job is coming to an end this week and I have six months of living expenses saved up. Rather than jumping into another temp office job, I'm looking to use the time in a more productive way to further longer-term life goals, such as moving to a new environment in another part of the country and improving my quality of life and improve my (especially mental) health. How can I maximise the time and resources I have to get out of my rut and into a life that's more worth leading?

I'm 30, single, no children, no plans to find a partner or have children - this is me building a life for me and no-one else. :)

I've been working a temporary office job for the past six months or so. It was only ever meant to last for three months but kept being extended on an ad-hoc basis - it was ended with a week's notice last Friday. (Part of me would have preferred it to last for just the initial three months, to reduce the "do I get to go to work next week?" uncertainty I've been struggling with for months, but what's done is done.) The job was never a long-term career option for me - it was always a temporary stopgap which has served its purpose. I've been in a rut of these on-off jobs for over a year and I want out.

I have around six months of living expenses saved up. I don't want to burn through my savings drifting around playing Cities: Skylines and eating cheese, but nor do I want or need to rush into another awful job with a long, horrible commute that's going to exacerbate my mental health problems. This is partly a move to change my lifestyle to one that is more conducive to good mental and physical health in the long term.