US Passport renewal strategy
September 12, 2016 11:05 AM   Subscribe

On October 5th (about 3 weeks away) I leave for Spain, I'm a US resident. I just realized my passport expires on Jan 31, 2017. According to the State department's website 6 months of validity is "recommended" for Spain. Should I risk mailing my passport for expedited renewal, which can take 2-3 weeks, or should I risk that 6 months of validity is really just a recommendation?

Is there another strategy like renewing in person I should explore?
posted by nowoutside to Travel & Transportation (20 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I should have added - I am returning directly to the US after 8 days, it won't expire while I'm abroad.
posted by nowoutside at 11:06 AM on September 12, 2016

You should be all right, but going to a Passport Agency would be a good idea to be more certain.
posted by Etrigan at 11:07 AM on September 12, 2016

I have friends who were turned away from their flight to Italy recently, because one member of the party had a passport that was going to expire some months after the round-trip. Seems crazy. But I mention it to say, there is some enforcement of provisions like that. Don't know whether it varies by country of destination, or what. But I would not assume that it is just a suggestion.
posted by sheldman at 11:11 AM on September 12, 2016 [1 favorite]

It seems like most of Europe, including Spain, requires 3 months, not 6 months.

I might go ahead and check at an agency, though.
posted by Huck500 at 11:12 AM on September 12, 2016

Despite what they tend to say on their website you can generally walk into a passport office and out the same day with a passport. It's just a time suck and it helps if you don't have a 5 hour drive to get to an office.
posted by bitdamaged at 11:20 AM on September 12, 2016 [1 favorite]

IATA says:
Passports and other documents accepted for entry must be valid for a minimum of 3 months beyond the period of intended stay.