Help this old lady learn how all you hip young kids take notes in class.
September 3, 2016 2:22 PM   Subscribe

Starting grad school in a few weeks and need some suggestions for note taking "apps" or software. I'm more of a pen and paper kind of girl but I know that, realistically, it might be best if I learned to take lecture notes on my laptop or iPad. What do you use for notes?

I'm just now learning about iCloud and how to link it up to all my devices. (don't laugh. I'm the oldest 27 year old ever) Is there an application you can recommend that I could install on my iPad and laptop for note taking and organization that would update and save on both devices? What has worked for you?

Thanks in advance!

Love, grandma.
Sent from my iPhone
posted by twoforty5am to Technology (38 answers total) 19 users marked this as a favorite

I head up the Mature Students Association at a law school, so I have some experience with what most older students are doing.

First of all, you should know that studies suggest that taking notes on paper is better for understanding and retention. Even though everyone in my cohort knows that, most of us take notes on laptops anyway.

Here are the most common laptop solutions, order more by how much I like them than by popularity.

Evernote. The new pricing scheme for Evernote means you can only use it for free on 2 devices at a time, but if all you need is laptop and tablet, you're good, and this is almost certainly your best choice.

Microsoft OneDrive -- if you have an Office subscription through your school (or the student versions are relatively cheap) this is an option, as well. There's a note taking application in the suite. It's bloatier than Evernote and I find it does stupider things with formatting that drive me crazy.