How to thank a teacher who hugely impacted me in the past?
August 20, 2016 11:33 AM   Subscribe

About ten years ago (in grade school), I had an amazing teacher who had a huge, extremely positive impact on my life. I've seen him a few times since then, but never really thanked him for everything he did for me. How do I now say THANK YOU/give a thank you gift without being awkward about it?

I no longer live in the same city - however, I am in town at the moment and would like to drop by and say hi. However, I am not very good at expressing sentiments in person (i.e., I wouldn't be able to just go up to him and say, "thanks for being an incredible teacher; you really changed my life in X, Y, and Z ways!"). So, I'd like to take a small gift with me or mail it to him/the school later.

Let me say that I definitely do not want to give anything money-related (no gift cards, cash, etc.). My current ideas are as follows:

(1) Give him a (previously owned and cherished) book of mine, which relates to something that we both share and have discussed - the book would be for his young daughter, not for him, since it's something I really enjoyed at her age (but I've since outgrown the book). I'd probably add a short inscription to her. It's on a fun topic, nothing serious. However, I haven't met the daughter (I have just seen pictures on Facebook since I'm Facebook friends with him) so I'm not sure if this is weird and/or if this gift is too personal.

(2) Give him a thank you card/note. I could either take it with me and hand it to him or just mail it later.

(3) Both of the above (probably what I'm leaning toward right now unless someone on here tells me that this is a bad idea).

(4) Neither of the above. Are the above ideas weird and/or awkward??? I don't want to make him feel uncomfortable. I guess I could also take a more neutral gift like a box of chocolates or something, but in general I prefer giving gifts with more personal meaning...