Back-end training programs similar to Hack Reactor?
August 17, 2016 12:47 PM   Subscribe

What intense, immersive training programs are out there that are similar to Hack Reactor or App Academy, but for back-end programming?

Anybody have any firsthand experience with such a program?
posted by mysterious_stranger to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Both of those courses cover back-end stuff.

I don't know of any boot camps that just do back-end - they're trying to graduate rounded junior devs, after all.

(I did Makers Academy; happy to answer any questions you might have about it!)
posted by henryaj at 1:23 PM on August 17, 2016

Response by poster: I used to be a developer. I don't want to do front-end stuff. I hate javascript especially. I am better at and like more backend stuff. I don't want to be a "rounded junior dev".

Again, I'm looking for back-end programs. I liked everything from data modeling to writing queries and stored procedures to tuning (though I never had any training in the latter). I'm looking both to learn what I've missed being in another field for 8 years, and to put something on my resume that will help attract employers.

Please assume that I do know what I am looking for. If you don't know of or like the concept of such programs, great, but I really don't need to hear about it.
posted by mysterious_stranger at 1:44 PM on August 17, 2016

I don't believe a program like the one you're looking for exists. All of the boot camps I know of are exactly as henryaj describes; they'll cover data structures and algorithms, but will also have a strong front-end component. There are any number of self-driven online courses in the kind of thing you want, but that's different.

The one thing I can think of that might fit the bill is the Recurse Center, but it's far more self-directed than the boot camps and doesn't have a specific curriculum.
posted by asterix at 1:54 PM on August 17, 2016 [3 favorites]