Help me get rid of shin splints.
December 30, 2005 8:10 PM   Subscribe

I need to know how to avoid/alleviate shin splints.

I'm a newbie runner. I've lost around 50 pounds in the past month, from about 252 to around 200, and I have been jogging/running every few days, but after the first 4 times I started getting shin splints. Could it have anything to do with my endurance building up (I can run probably 4 times as far now without stopping as I originally could)?

I've tried resting for about a week, doing some stretching, working out my calves, going more slowly, walking for about 20 minutes before hand...

Any tips that involve what I have already tried would be greatly appriciated.
posted by mhuckaba to Health & Fitness (17 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Response by poster: Errr, not in the past month. Past 6 months. Hehe.
posted by mhuckaba at 8:11 PM on December 30, 2005

Rest and ice are the best things you can do to get rid of shin splints. Ice them for 15-20 minutes every four hours. The easiest way to ice them is to put a frozen gelpack against your shin and wrap an ace bandage around it.

You should also get running shoes from a specialty running store, where they'll have you run 50 feet or so and then recommend shoes that match your gait. Here's a list: http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,5033,s6-52-70-0-1048,00.html
posted by ootsocsid at 8:34 PM on December 30, 2005

Two things come to mind: your shoes and your running surfface. What kind of surface are you running on? If it's mostly sidewalk, try running on pavement/asphalt instead, if possible. Each time your feet hit the ground, the shock energy needs to go somewhere. Shoes do a large amount of shock absorbtion, so a good match to your foot and running style is pretty important. If you can add softer ground to the equation, it'll help minimize or alleviate your splints.

Here's a nice article about shin splints.
posted by pmbuko at 8:35 PM on December 30, 2005

Two tips: