How do I create a P&L for a consulting business that barely exists?
August 9, 2016 5:36 PM   Subscribe

I'm trying to get a mortgage and the underwriters want a profit and loss statement for my consulting practice. I do not have one. Moreover, I'm not doing any consulting work in 2016. And in 2015, my consulting amounted to about $3000. But I've been depreciating a laptop since 2013. I'm not asking them to give me a mortgage based on my consulting practice. I also have a full time, salaried job that is totally adequate to the loan I'm applying for. So what do they actually want from me?

Here's what they actually said:

"Please provide us a Profit and Loss Statement & Balance Sheet for your consulting in a standard accounting format. We realize that you are no longer consulting so providing a P&L and balance sheet showing no income is fine."

Here's what makes this sticky:

I made ~$3000/year on consulting work in 2014 and 2015. I use Turbo Tax and walk through their dialog to estimate my expenses and depreciate my laptop. I bought the laptop in October of 2013 for $1200.

In 2015, I listed the laptop as "Property used 50% or less in a qualified business use:" and called it 25% -- I think that was accurate. Turbotax came up with a $61 depreciation. That is all shown in my tax returns, which they have.

What I don't want to do is send them a statement that says I made $0 and spent $0, if I should be saying I'm operating at a loss because I have this laptop that I'm not using for business. And I definitely don't want to give them something that will have them asking why I include my laptop on my taxes but not my P&L. I certainly don't want to lie. But I also don't really see how it makes sense to hire an accountant right now, just to figure out what Turbo Tax would say at the end of the year.

Does any one have any idea how the laptop depreciation would work on my taxes, given that it was not used for business in 2016?