How do I plan my life after depression?
August 5, 2016 8:47 PM   Subscribe

I had a bad depressive episode some years ago, which got me into treatment. In retrospect, I feel that I have been depressed many times before in my life and that this untreated depression explains my low ability to function from, say, the ages of 19-22 and 25-30. I now feel more capable than before, but also overwhelmed by all there is to learn. What should I prioritise, and how to organise my life so that I can learn these things gradually and safely without becoming overwhelmed or attacking myself for not having learned them before?

My situation: I'm a heterosexual woman in my early thirties, I have an academic job, and I live with my mother (sometimes my father joins us for a few months at a time; he is normally based in a different country but lives with her in the summer). My closest friends are mostly scattered across the globe. I finished my PhD this year, with difficulty, and after revisions. I've never been in a romantic relationship, and am significantly overweight (although I lost some weight this year). I haven't published anything in two years, in a field where the minimum expectation is a journal article a year.