Go Phish.
July 29, 2016 11:51 AM   Subscribe

A company I used to work for had a security breach. I don't think they have been handling the situation appropriately and want to know what I can do to protect myself, but to also find out if I can find a complaint (and if this is even a thing).

Something feels very wrong about this situation to me and this might be a dumb question, but I'm wondering what to do and if there is anything greater I can do.

I worked as a permanent full time employee at a consulting firm for about a year (Company A). I was A's employee via W2, and was permanently assigned onsite at a company (Company B). I went to B daily and functioned in a role specific to B but happened to be a contractor from Company A, rather than a full time B employee. This is their resourcing model. I received full Company A benefits.

Several months into the job, Company B had a full time position open to which I directly applied, interviewed against other external positions and was given the job. I resigned as a contractor at Company A and moved into my new full time employee role at Company B. This was perfectly fine, no toes stepped on, it's a actually common occurrence in my industry. Company A has about 90 contractors onsite at Company B and there are 3 other people who did the same thing as me, converting to Company B. I am a full time employee at Company B now. This was a great move for me and I'm really happy. Company A doesn't do a very good job of communicating with their employees and their management was a mess and still is.