Hope for freelancers with scatterbrained, ungrounded thinking?
July 23, 2016 7:53 AM   Subscribe

I'm a freelance writer, and the freedom I have means that walls of the maze that is my ADHD brain are always shifting...I think I need help in prioritizing, where I can balance my immediate income needs with longer term plans that will bring me more income in the future.

To be brief, I was recently diagnosed with ADHD, which explains why I always have trouble focusing on some things and can zero in and focus obsessively on other things....as a freelance writer, I have to operate like a one-woman business, but the possibilities of what I can do from day to day confuse me...I'll write on the little Windows 10 desktop sticky note that I have to do A, B and C today, but then I decide that I could better leverage my time doing D, E, and F. And what about K? K could be very lucrative. But I'd have to do H and J first...ultimately alphabetical order (and any order for that matter) become irrelevant. I spend countless hours clicking away on Twitter and Facebook and screaming on the inside.

I think I need help in prioritizing, where I can balance my immediate income needs (where the work might not be exciting, but it keeps food on the table) with longer term plans that will bring me more income in the future (exciting bling bling, creative projects). Help please.
posted by Cybria to Work & Money (3 answers total) 21 users marked this as a favorite

Medication? I've had good luck with Vyvanse.
posted by functionequalsform at 8:21 AM on July 23, 2016 [2 favorites]

I'm a freelancer that has the same problem. A few things that help:
- Getting out of my house -- usually to the library or a coffee shop. Sitting down and working almost seems like a luxury when there's stuff that needs to be done around the house and I'm constantly distracted by little things. Getting out of my house re-sets my brain somewhat and allows me to concentrate better.