Data recovery professionals for Seagate external hard drive
July 17, 2016 5:26 PM   Subscribe

This morning my portable hard drive said the folder I'd been working on last night was corrupt, so I restarted my PC. Now the hard drive is asking to be formatted before use. There are lots of tools available online but as an amateur, I'm not willing to risk playing around with it myself. How do I choose a good data recovery business on the Gold Coast, Queensland? Who to avoid? I need the data urgently and I'm willing to pay a ridiculous amount of money.
posted by b33j to Computers & Internet (17 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: DISCLAIMER: I am not a computer wiz. But, I also have a Seagate portable hardrive that recently, went kerflueooy on me in a similar fashion. (Said the drive was corrupt.) I powered down my PC, unplugged the Seagate, restarted the computer. Turned off the computer. Plugged in the Seagate, restarted the computer and viola. There she was again, just like old times. I have no idea why this worked. But I have not had any problems since.
posted by pjsky at 5:40 PM on July 17, 2016

Response by poster: I tried that. I don't want to try it again in case there's a limited number of uses left in it and/or until I have a fresh replacement drive to save the data to. But thanks. I'm hopeful. The boss is aware and sympathetic. She'll let the publishers know (book was due in today).
posted by b33j at 5:52 PM on July 17, 2016

If you can swing shipping to the states, DriveSavers saved my butt---and data---about 10 years ago when I had a drive go kerplooey. They do seem to maybe have some options for non-US folks as well.
posted by leahwrenn at 5:58 PM on July 17, 2016

Best answer: I've referred several of my won't-make-backups-on-principle customers to Kroll Ontrack, and have never heard complaints about anything other than the size of the fee they charge for it. They have a Brisbane office.