Setting Boundaries vs Being Controlling?
May 27, 2016 3:36 PM   Subscribe

I have very poor boundaries, and I'm just beginning to understand what that means. I've been trying to be aware of that and then set them in my relationship with my husband - but I'm unsure I'm doing it right, and am not just ending up being controlling.

Yes, I have a therapist, and I will be talking to him about this at my next appointment but I wanted to get some ideas to gestate on in few weeks before then.

I have poor boundaries - most likely from going up in an abusive home and the fallout from that. I wasn't allowed to have any boundaries, and my parents did not have healthy boundaries with each other. I come from a long line of non-boundary-havers on both sides of the family, I never really had healthy relationships modeled for me. I'm only just starting to realize how much this has impacted me, and how my husband and I have poor boundaries with each other, and how that has lead to a lot of relationship strife.

Complicating this is that there are some elements of codependency in our relationship. This was the behavior between my mother and father, and I've come to realize that I can be the controlling enabler. I'm not always, but I've caught myself doing it either in small, chronic, subtle ways and sometimes much bigger, bad ways. I recognized some of the behavior for a long time, and actively fought it just knowing that I didn't want a relationship like my parents BUT it still has reared it's ugly head. It's only recently I started to understand the codependency part of it the problems and my complicity in trying to be controlling of certain aspects of my husbands behavior.