Can a beginner make a table without screwing up irreplaceable wood?
May 25, 2016 6:57 PM   Subscribe

I have enough surface wood from an old velodrome to make a smallish coffee table or a large endtable - inspired by this beauty. I'd use the surface wood for the table surface, and mount it on... something. But though I'm reasonably handy, I have no experience woodworking.

Is it unreasonable to think I could make something classic and good-looking without experience? Are there good resources for simple designs for the lower portion?

The wood has sentimental value, and is irreplaceable - so I don't want to fuck it up.

Can I do it myself? If so, how? Or should I just pay a furniture maker?
posted by entropone to Home & Garden (18 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Yes, it's unreasonable. Would you expect that someone who's never played the violin before can perform Beethoven sonatas without having worked her way through scales and etudes? It takes many, many times of getting something wrong before you can master it. Sure, given enough time, she'll be able to play enough of it to be recognizable as a Beethoven sonata, but would you really want to hear it? Anyway, you can reasonably expect that you will end up with something that is recognizable as the table you want.

Also, do you have a budget for shop tools? Looking at this, you'll need a jointer, a planer, large clamps, a sander, a router, HVLP varnish sprayer – and the quality (read: price) of your tools, in addition to your experience in using them, will directly affect how good the end product will look.

Why not practice with cheaper lumber? Get it wrong a few times, then build your table.
posted by halogen at 7:07 PM on May 25, 2016 [2 favorites]

This is exactly what a maker space can help with! From lessons on how to use tools properly to providing resources and advice. I would also recommend practicing with non-sentimental wood.