Weekend Project Ideas
May 25, 2016 6:07 AM   Subscribe

I have 3 days on my own this weekend – what projects can I get stuck into that will take about that long?

It’s a bank holiday weekend here, and my plans fell through, but my boyfriend is off to see friends. This means I have a whole chunk of time to myself, and I’d like to do something productive with it. In particular, I’d like something that I can be working on for most of the long weekend, and that will give me a sense of accomplishment at the end. I like crafts, and having something to show at the end would be nice, but I’d also be interested in learning something new.

Restrictions and such:
- I live in a tiny rented flat, so DIY/home improvements aren’t really possible
- I don’t mind buying supplies, but something fairly cheap is better.
- I’m in London, in case there’s anything interesting going on around the city this weekend. I’m always up for exploring.
- I have a sewing machine, but I’m not very good with it. Anyone know of any beginners projects?
posted by Law of Demeter to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (16 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

Make curtains? Here is a tutorial. You can take them with you when you leave.
posted by St. Peepsburg at 6:11 AM on May 25, 2016

Explore London! I'd love to live in London and would explore the heck out of it.

Make a weekend-length athletic goal for yourself (run a mile each day).

Cook yourself an involved and complex recipe and make plans for the leftovers.

Spring cleaning and reorganizing.
posted by slateyness at 6:19 AM on May 25, 2016 [2 favorites]

I love trying recipes and making multiple batches of food that take a long time: like pasta, a bazillion cookies, lasagne, pizza dough, etc.

This past long weekend I spent a couple of hours on Sunday making pizza dough, and now I have the option of delicious homemade pizza whenever I want in the next 2 weeks (longer if I freeze the dough - but it never lasts that long).