More like a pocket, less like a fanny pack?
May 15, 2016 9:05 AM   Subscribe

The world is frustrating my efforts to only own dresses/skirts with pockets. I am wondering if you can help me find some kind of bag that would work like an external pocket for me. Like a fanny pack. Except I'm not really confident I can or want to pull off the fanny pack look.

I'm a teacher and this is what is generally in my pocket: pens, pencils, dry erase markers, my usb key, phone (in a wallet case, so thicker than a regular iPhone), and sometimes random other things. I already 'float' so carry a bigger bag from room to room, and I want to be able to keep certain things easily accessible on my body.

Ideally the bag itself would be light, comfortable strap, multipockets but not necessary to keep them closed or zippered, just big enough, and match almost everything without being too dorky (a little dorky is ok).

I was looking at something like this but the reviews said that the strap got uncomfortable. The size looks all right though maybe a little too large? Or something like those sling bags, but that's designed to hang more in front (easier to get in and out of).
posted by Salamandrous to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (33 answers total) 13 users marked this as a favorite

What about a Flip Belt? All the advantages of a fanny pack, but sits under your clothing without the bulge.
posted by roomthreeseventeen at 9:07 AM on May 15, 2016 [4 favorites]

My suggestion would be something with this form. There are lots of bags out there with that particular style -- slim crossbody with stacked zippers running down one side of the bag, that just happens to be the first one I came across on eBags. With the slimness, you don't need to keep the zips closed for stuff to stay in those pockets , and it gives you a few of different depths for different things, but they're all accessible at the same time without reaching under a flap.
posted by jacquilynne at 9:20 AM on May 15, 2016 [3 favorites]