DBA for dummies?
May 13, 2016 9:07 AM   Subscribe

Doing Business As, not Database Administrator...

I am a consultant, self-employed. I now have enough clients that I am considering filing for a DBA and opening a business bank account to make it easier to track my income. I live in New York. I have been doing research (Googling mostly) for information on how to register for a DBA/what I need to know for tax purposes and the information out there is dense and overwhelming to me. Is there something like a DBA for Dummies guide, or some other resource that outlines step-by-step what to do and what I need to know with a minimum of non-layperson jargon or advertising for services that will handle this process for me (WITH ONLY ONE PAINLESS PAYMENT OF $$$$$!!!!!) ?

If anyone out there has gone through this process (sole consultant setting up a DBA) I welcome personal anecdata as well.

And yes, I know YANML and YANMTaxAdviser. (Do I need to speak with one or both for this?)

Thanks!
posted by thereemix to Work & Money (9 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I did this in New York when I first started working for myself 15 years ago. I got a DBA so that I could open a business checking account using the business's name. I remember going to the county clerk's office on Centre St., looking through these big books to confirm that no one else was using my business's name... I hope it's a little more technologically advanced by now, but I have no idea! I just Googled on DBA and 60 Centre Street (where I went) and found lots of how-to links. Here's one as an example:

http://www.newyorksmallbusinesslaw.com/new_york_small_business_l/2006/08/know_your_doing.html
posted by lgandme0717 at 9:12 AM on May 13, 2016

nah it's easy and (from some states but not yours) all online. the phrase you are looking for (yes DBA is accurate for forms etc but not for the thing you have to do) is called "fictitious name registration"