What are some ways to get inspired to write music again?
May 12, 2016 8:13 PM   Subscribe

From the 90s to the early 00s (roughly my teens and twenties), I was a prolific composer and producer of music of all sorts of genres. Eventually I started doing it for my day job and all my creativity went away. Now it's 10 years later, and I haven't really done anything in about 10 years, and I'm getting desperate.

I feel like it was my identity and that I've been unmoored from that. It's all anyone I haven't talked to in awhile asks me about, and I feel like shit every time I have to talk about it. I have such high standards for myself which makes it hard to admit my inability to get started. I have all the tools available to me but they simultaneously repel me. No longer having an outlet/label/association to release music with is part of it. Nothing is more depressing to me than making some stuff and it being another one of the 1,000,000 soundclouds or bandcamp pages that get totally ignored.

I guess I am looking for some how-tos/exercises/techniques to get those sorts of juices flowing again. I'd try anything at this point, no matter how bizarre the recommendation. To clarify, I no longer do it for my day job, so that's not the problem.
posted by basehead to Media & Arts (21 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

Download some nothing/silly music program to your phone or tablet (assuming you have one) and just futz around with no goal.

Try composing something in a genre you've never ever done.
posted by feckless fecal fear mongering at 8:21 PM on May 12, 2016 [2 favorites]

Get a deadline from somewhere - commit to someone (to work with, or for - something low-key, for a person you trust and don't need to impress, but don't want to let down).
posted by cotton dress sock at 8:43 PM on May 12, 2016 [3 favorites]