Quality looking summer clothing for stay at home mom in HOT weather
May 12, 2016 3:27 PM   Subscribe

Hi everyone, I am trying to figure out where to shop. I am an average sized woman, 5, 4" and I work part time in a school and have three young kids. I need things that coordinate and can more or less go between work and home...although I am in the stage where things get stained often!! I just tried stitch fix. I was so disappointed! The quality didn't seem to be great, the items looked like not great quality, one dress was way too long, three shirts looked like maternity on me, and one was polyester, which is awful in HOT, HOT weather where I live. I have no time to shop, but I don't want to go buy boxy looking clothing. I would like clothing that fits, and I can't figure out where to get this. I am spending way too much money shopping online and guessing just to have to pay all of the shipping fees to order and return! I have seen people recommend Boden, but others say sizes are inconsistent. I'm not a huge fan of JCrew. Thanks so much!!
posted by tangomija to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (31 answers total) 16 users marked this as a favorite

Oh, and an addition....I want to look put together and very comfortable, but not wearing a full lululemon outfit!
posted by tangomija at 3:42 PM on May 12, 2016

Perhaps Lands End? They went slightly downmarket after acquisition by Sears a few years ago, but I've heard that they're recovering. They're pretty good on using natural fibers.
posted by praemunire at 3:47 PM on May 12, 2016 [3 favorites]

One thing nice about Boden, if you're interested in the styles, is that they put the finished dimensions of the garment on their website. Click "size guide" for the item. I've been satisfied with Boden's quality in the past, and one time I wasn't they sent me a free new one.
posted by stowaway at 3:50 PM on May 12, 2016 [1 favorite]

Maybe look for stores that offer free shipping and free returns like Nordstrom?