Should I go back to ordering takeout?
May 8, 2016 6:01 PM   Subscribe

I have a new cast iron pan. Long story short, I tried deglazing with white wine vinegar because I don't really know what I'm doing in the kitchen. Now there's a stain on the pan where the vinegar was. Is this fixable? I've tried scrubbing with my cleaner brush but I don't think it's helping.

I'm new to cooking and feel like an idiot. Please be gentle.
posted by soonertbone to Food & Drink (21 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

Acid strips the seasoning off a cast iron pan, but cast iron is well nigh indestructible and seasoning can be replaced.

You just need to reseason the pan.
posted by jacquilynne at 6:04 PM on May 8, 2016 [16 favorites]

Yup, just reseason it. How to season a cast iron pan.

And don't deglaze with vinegar in the future. Wine, wine derivatives (e.g. brandy, sherry, madeira), or stock. Even water, in a pinch.
posted by feckless fecal fear mongering at 6:04 PM on May 8, 2016 [4 favorites]

It's fine. Rub some oil into that bad boy and keep cooking. Cast iron is a 'pass it down to your grandkids' kind of material, a little vinegar isn't going to hurt it. Even if you rust the crap out of it by leaving it in water too long, you just buff it off and keep it going. Diamonds break if you smash them with a hammer. Cast iron is forever.
posted by ananci at 6:11 PM on May 8, 2016 [7 favorites]

yeah, don't even cook tomatoes in a cast iron pan: acid. these pans are great for many things but not all things. you are not an idiot! (i mean, you might be i guess, but you have not demonstrated it here.)
posted by sheldman at 6:12 PM on May 8, 2016 [3 favorites]

Yeah; you got this. Don't worry.

Jaquilynne and FFFM have got some great resources, but as a community, we kind of babble about cast iron quite a bit.
posted by furnace.heart at 6:15 PM on May 8, 2016 [1 favorite]