Anonymously publishing erotica on Amazon
April 25, 2016 9:33 PM   Subscribe

I'm a writer, I've written some erotica that's been well-received in small forums, and I'd like to self-publish it on Amazon. However, it doesn't fit with my "brand" of my more mainstream writing, so I'd like to do so under a pseudonym with a reasonable firewall. Can you give me advice or tips or direction on where to find more information?

I have neither delusions of fame nor fortune; I just enjoyed writing these as a side project from my main work, and I think others would enjoy reading them, and it itches at me to have good completed work and to NOT be sending it out to publishers or putting it out in the world. I have a handful of pieces completed that range in length from short stories to novels. They're generally in the form of "romance novel (i.e., they're character-driven and have a plot), but with more and dirtier sex." They're usually historicals. Some are more serial in fashion, with a frame story to set up a variety of sex; others are more unified stories.

Anyway, I'd like to publish them, and my mainstream publisher doesn't have a problem with it, but I'm strictly on my own and I need to keep it well-firewalled from my other published work. (It doesn't have to be totally perfect, it is not a crisis if someone finds out I write erotica on the side, but it is less complicated if I keep it private.) I'm sure this is not an uncommon problem for erotica writers, and I'm hoping you lovely mefites can point me towards resources for exactly this issue of managing a pseudonym for Amazon e-publishing. How private is it? Are there squads of pseudonym busters trolling the bottom ranks of erotica self-publishing to shame people, or is it just a regular pseudonymous ecosystem where nobody really cares? Especially curious about payment, and whether you link it to your main Amazon account or how that works.

Much appreciated!