For a car newbie, are swap meets useful?
April 22, 2016 3:12 PM   Subscribe

I'm a really new automotive DIYer. I'm interested in all the auto swap meets that will happen this spring/summer. Should I go, or will it all go over my head?

Background: I've been driving regularly for < 10 years and recently became interested in learning about, and maintaining/fixing, my car. Over the past several months I've taken a night class, read college texts, and accumulated basic tools; done various maintenance checks, and changed engine oil, spark plugs, and tires. I plan to work on brakes maybe in a few months.

So that's the extent of my knowledge. There are no other classes in the area, and I kinda miss having other people to talk to about it, checking out their cars, and learning from them. So the idea of going somewhere that has all that (I think?) plus finding useful items* and perhaps chatting with like minded people is really attractive right now.

But (here's the over thinking part) are swap meets more for hardcore enthusiasts or guys who have been, like, building engines for 20 years? I don't want to be out of place and wasting my time (the events I see are not in town so I'd have to drive at least 45 minutes one-way).

Any advice or comments are appreciated. If it's relevant, I'm a feminine-looking woman**, would prefer to go alone to such events, and am in SW Ontario. Thanks!

*Like say a micrometer or some sockets. Or gauges, some magnets, whatever. I know I could get these at the local auto parts store. But I like the thrill of flea market shopping too!

**Only mentioning out of insecurity I guess. :(
posted by methroach to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (6 answers total)

Are you familiar with Car Talk?