programming/curriculum design resources
April 4, 2016 11:59 AM   Subscribe

I have the opportunity to pitch a film screening/discussion series at a local music school where I take classes. I have no idea how to craft a pitch or put together a program of this sort. How do I begin?

The stakes are low - this is a music school for hobbyists, not Juilliard or anything like that. I have been taking classes with them for a year now and the owner of the school mentioned to me recently that he has always wanted to do more movie screenings (films about music, or music documentaries) and talkbacks in the space but doesn't have the time or the knowledge to program something like that. I have a degree in film (concentrating in musicals), a deep love of music documentaries, and the ability to lead discussions about film theory and American pop culture, and this is exactly the kind of project I'd love to take on.

He has tasked me with giving him a pitch of how I'd envision a film/discussion series of this sort and wants to lean towards structuring it more like a class and less like a random community film screening thing (of which we have a lot in our town). I kind of have a vague sense of which movies would be great to cover and what I could say about said movies, but I have no idea how to craft a pitch for something like this, or how to design a "curriculum" of sorts. Does anyone have any advice for how to do this, or easy to access resources for how to do this?

Again, this is super low stakes - this is not a music school that confers degrees or prepares people for careers in musical theater or anything like that, there will be no tests or exams or grades or anything of that sort. Primarily it's a school that provides lessons to kids who want to learn musical instruments or voice technique and it also has music classes for adults - this film screening/discussion series would be a part of the adult programming.

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!