Confusing advice on mold removal
April 3, 2016 7:46 AM   Subscribe

Help us defeat mold on cinder block.

Our unpainted cinder-block basement wall has patches of black mold. It's not extensive -- about 2 to 3 times what's shown in this pic.
We understand the need to stop the moisture that's causing it, and we're taking steps to do that. But the advice we're seeing on actually removing/killing the mold is all over the map. E.g. use or don't use bleach, vinegar, etc etc.
We'll have a couple of pros come out this week for estimates, but we're also interested in DIY. So questions:
Assuming we can control the moisture level, is this mold something we can likely deal with ourselves?
And if so, what's the best method?
posted by SallyHitMeOntheHead to Home & Garden (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I am not an expert but there is a paint called Killz that I've often heard contractors mention using in these circumstances.
posted by kalessin at 7:59 AM on April 3, 2016 [1 favorite]

I've been dealing with the same conflicting advice and actually decided that really the substances that are made for this (sprays and foggers) are the way to go. My cinder block is painted our else I'd follow up the killing with a water seal like Drylok.
posted by soren_lorensen at 8:22 AM on April 3, 2016

CORRECTION
OP here. The area with mold is in fact painted -- and that's the only place with mold. Here's another pic showing painted and unpainted.
It's a very small part of the basement -- and maybe it's not paint, but a sealant of some sort? That would indicate there has been problem there before.
Not sure if this impacts my original question.
posted by SallyHitMeOntheHead at 8:46 AM on April 3, 2016