Enterprise Architecture (I think) Starting from Scratch
March 30, 2016 1:00 AM   Subscribe

If you were starting a brand new small college computer infrastructure, where would you start?

I've been tasked with building a small college infrastructure (Student information system, learning management system, email server, website, security and I hate to add...etc.
My background is instructional design and technology, I've worked in colleges and universities off and on for 16 years. But I've never been asked to build the whole thing from the ground up. I know that ideally I'd start with a needs assessment and requirements, unfortunately all I have is that there will be 500 students and around 60 courses.
Where is a good place to start thinking and conceptualizing the nuts and bolts of this? I'm pretty good at scoping out kind of a "God's eye view" of what's needed. But when it comes to say the first piece of hardware or software to consider, I'm at a loss.

Can you think of any good resources that would help me make decisions? I know this probably sounds kinda crazy.
posted by PHINC to Technology (11 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Don’t underestimate the amount of staff time it takes just to keep a secure mail/calendar/websit/network infrastucture system up and running. That’s before you even think about developing any kind of customised tooling for your institution.

You can go a long, long way with Google Apps for Education & Google’s security is probably the best out there.
posted by pharm at 3:26 AM on March 30, 2016 [4 favorites]

NB You’re going to find a *lot* of vendors pushing 'solutions' for educational institutions: Is there a conference or something you can get to where you can actually talk to the people running these systems at other institutions? That might be where I’d start.
posted by pharm at 3:28 AM on March 30, 2016