What gear should I buy next to make ambient pads?
February 29, 2016 7:18 AM   Subscribe

I’m making ambient, evolving pads to score some films. I’m an editor not a musician so I’m new to this game. I’m debating between the Arturia BeatStep Pro and an eventide space delay. I realize these do two different thinks but which do you think is going to help my music evolve and offer me the opportunity to go deeper with my music? And why? My gear is a micro brute, a volca beats and kets and a Korg minilogue
posted by captainscared to Media & Arts (5 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: Are you working in the box at all? Most of my recommendations at this point wouldn't be more hardware, personally. It might also be worth thinking hard about gear acquisition syndrome which past a certain point won't really solve problems. I think you can probably do what you want with the hardware you already have.

But, here are some recommendations, not for hardware:
posted by advil at 7:55 AM on February 29, 2016 [2 favorites]

Seconding G.A.S....buuut...if your looking for some buttons to push (I checked out that minilogue (drool) you have enough knobs for now) check out the novation launchpad mini. Less than half the price and comes with Ableton lite. If, in the future, you decide you must have 'velocity and pressure sensitive' pads or the full Ableton then sell it on Craigslist and upgrade. (Also, pretty much all your gear is on my radar...hit me up if you're thinking of upgrading, I might be in the market, and am in the nyc area)
posted by sexyrobot at 9:33 AM on February 29, 2016

Best answer: If you want do ambient, evolving pads, get the Omnisphere 2 vst and spend a month watching youtube tutorials of how it works. It kicks the hell out of anything you're going to get in hardware for at least 10x the cost.
posted by Jairus at 9:55 AM on February 29, 2016 [1 favorite]