I WANT TO GO TO THE SCHOOL PLZ LET ME IN KTHX BYE
February 9, 2016 10:07 AM   Subscribe

I am working on my grad school application essay and am freezing up. I haven't had to write an application essay since 2002 and I'm not sure how to begin. Help!

I am working on my application for grad school. I'm applying to MS programs in hospitality. The thing is, I graduated from college in 2007 and have been working full time more or less ever since, so I'm completely out of practice at anything related to school. The last time I wrote an application essay was in 2002 when I was applying to colleges, but the requirements and expectations for a college application essay are pretty different from what is expected for a professional grad program.

I literally have no idea how to begin writing this thing - I am blocked. I know generally I am supposed to convey why I would be a good candidate for the program but I have no idea how to do that. I keep procrastinating. The application due date isn't for a couple of months but I don't want to put this off till the last minute since I also need to study for and take the GMAT and I don't want to do this all half-assedly. Does anyone have any tips for how I can get started on this essay, how I should be thinking about crafting the writing, and what, honestly, I should be trying to say? I feel like my perfectionism is rearing its ugly head and I don't want to self-sabotage.

Thanks in advance.
posted by thereemix to Education (10 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

It would be helpful if you provided the prompt. But for the purposes of the essay, set that aside first and brainstorm about how you got here.

I think a good place to start is to think about first why you want to apply to this program to start with and think about the potential jobs you see yourself moving forward with that degree. Was there a specific moment? Someone you spoke with? Something you're doing now that's related?