How hard is it for an adult to learn how to play guitar?
February 8, 2016 5:43 PM   Subscribe

Said adult is in early thirties and has very minor musical experience
posted by watrlily to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (22 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

not hard at all, get to it. Start with basic chords to songs you know already. play with a metronome.

does said adult know how to read music? that'll help a lot.
posted by sweetkid at 5:49 PM on February 8, 2016 [1 favorite]

I'm not sure how you want us to answer this question. It varies like crazy from person to person! How easily do you pick up musical concepts? Someone like me, who has been musically trained since I was a kid, I picked up guitar pretty quick once I started trying to learn - was able to play some simple songs within a week or two, and I'm still learning. Someone who knows nothing about music, has to learn musical notation, has to learn what the strings do, what a chord is, how to hold the guitar, etc. etc.... it can be harder.

With that said, I don't think guitar is a particularly hard instrument in general. Not like say, learning violin.

Pick up a beginners book and go from there. Maybe get a private tutor.
posted by FireFountain at 5:51 PM on February 8, 2016

http://www.justinguitar.com/
posted by humboldt32 at 5:58 PM on February 8, 2016 [2 favorites]

Adding to previous answers, it also depends on what you want to play. For classical guitar, you'll need to be able to read music, and it's going to be a steeper learning curve. If you want to strum chords and sing along, there's no need to read music and the difficulty really depends on how "musical" you already are (ability to hold a tune, keep a rhythm etc). Finally, if you want to learn more fancy rock guitar (like soloing etc) there's still no need to learn to read music as most guitar music uses tablature, but you'd want to pick up some music theory (keys, scales, chords) and train your ear.