How do I meat?
February 1, 2016 9:29 PM   Subscribe

I want to cook and eat more meat. But I'm super-squeamish about cooking it, worried I don't know enough about handling it safely, and want to figure out the best way to eat more meat frugally. Help! A boatload of questions inside.

Preliminary info: I don't eat beef. I'm a decent cook at non-meat things. My kitchen is small but pretty well stocked - oven, microwave, a great pot/pan set, crockpot. My freezer is sadly pretty small. All of these questions below can also refer to fish! (Well except the roast chicken one...)

1) I am super squeamish about dealing with raw meat. I know this is ridiculous and childish. Touching it squicks me out and I wind up overcooking it a lot, especially chicken, because the thought of it not being sufficiently cooked grosses me out. Besides just gritting my teeth and coping, any suggestions on how to get over this? (Related, I am also super squeamish about fat and it's totally a texture and mouth-feel thing. I don't mind a crockpot-cooked pork shoulder when it just finished cooking, but I get super grossed out when you take it out of the fridge the next day and all the fat has solidified.)

2) I don't think I have a very good grasp of best practices for dealing with raw meat. I know you're not, for example, supposed to rinse chicken in the sink because all that does is contaminate the sink. Is putting a plastic cutting board in the dishwasher after washing it with soap sufficient? Am I okay washing my knives in soap and hot water with a sponge after I've used them on raw meat? I've been using paper towels instead of a sponge for cleaning because I worry about the sponge sitting around with raw meat grossness. (Ugh, I sound so mature.) Should I be using some sort of bleach solution? Ditch the sponges?