Embarrassed of my life.
January 12, 2016 6:37 PM   Subscribe

I experience moments of defeat. Where's my courage?

I have a lot to fix with my life. I have no career and working a dead end job. I can't afford to live by myself, I'm overweight and I'm a struggling artist. I have a really supportive and wonderful girlfriend. And I really want to feel like I'm worth the support she provides.

And most of the time, I feel like I'm not. I'm 30 and I'm at an age where I have to take action. I want to support myself. I want to be able to provide equally for my girlfriend, raise a family - make enough money to make my parents and her mother proud. I think about all I have to do, I have one setback and then I feel like crawling under a rock. I want to just accept that I'm not capable of doing anything right. That I make/made bad decisions with my life. What kind of adult am I? Why did I do this to myself?

It's becoming overwhelming embarrassing to tell people that I work part-time, that I love drawing and art, still live with my parents and that I have no college degree. It's especially embarrassing whenever I'm having a casual conversation with people my age with whom I've just met. Or catching up with an old friend from high school. I feel like my parents are embarrassed of me, that they don't trust me to take care of myself. That I'm still a child.

I've written realistic goals for myself. To find a steady full time job and save up. To begin fighting the depression with exercise. To focus on my art and to find friends.
But how to do I avoid feeling embarrassed? or have it stop feeding into my low self-esteem?
posted by morning_television to Human Relations (16 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite